On the record: Bob Baffert, Kevin Manning, Frankie Dettori and more …

• The week’s significant milestones, facts and figures

Horse Racing Bob Baffert John Velazquez
Bob Baffert and John Velazquez bask in Kentucky Derby victory with Medina Spirit. Photo: Churchill Downs/Coady

220 Bob Baffert

USA: According to Equibase statistics, Bob Baffert became North America’s winningmost G1 trainer of all-time when he saddled Gamine to win the Derby City Distaff on the Kentucky Derby undercard.

The star filly provided his 220th victory at the top level, moving 68-year-old Baffert one ahead of the legendary D Wayne Lukas.

A few hours later, Baffert moved on to 221 when Medina Spirit became his seventh Kentucky Derby winner. This is also a record, surpassing Calumet trainer Ben A Jones’s six; both are responsible for two Triple Crown winners.

54 Kevin Manning

GB: On a weekend dominated by the older generation of jockeys, 54-year-old Kevin Manning partnered Poetic Flare to win the Qipco 2,000 Guineas at Newmarket on Saturday [May 1] for his 79-year-old father-in-law Jim Bolger.

Manning, who now has four British Classic wins, is the oldest jockey to win a Classic since Lester Piggott won the 1992 2,000 Guineas aged 56 on Rodrigo De Triano.

Frankie Dettori, who won the 1,000 Guineas on Mother Earth, is 50, while John Velazquez, who completed the Kentucky Oaks/Derby double on Malathaat and Medina Spirit, is 49.

20 Frankie Dettori

GB: Frankie Dettori rode his 20th British Classic winner on Sunday [May 2] when he partnered Mother Earth to win the Qipco 1,000 Guineas at Newmarket. 

Dettori, 50, has ridden over 250 G1 winners across three decades. His first Classic winner in Britain was Balanchine in the 1994 Oaks.

Mother Earth was a 39th British Classic winner for her trainer Aidan O’Brien, who has now won the 1,000 Guineas seven times.

59 Todd Pletcher

USA: Todd Pletcher, set to be inducted into the Hall of Fame later this year, saddled four runners in the Kentucky Derby to take his career total to 59 – more than anybody else.

The seven-time Eclipse Award-winning trainer has won the race twice, with Super Saver (2010) and Always Dreaming (2017). Known Agenda (ninth) did best of his four runners on Saturday, ahead of Sainthood (11th), Bourbonic (13th) and Dynamic One (18th); he did, though, win the Kentucky Oaks with Malathaat.

Four-time winner D Wayne Lukas has saddled the second-most Derby starters with 48.

100 James McDonald

Australia: James McDonald became only the third jockey to ride 100 metropolitan Sydney winners in three successive seasons when he rode a double at Warwick Farm on Wednesday [April 28]. 

The New Zealand expat, who is on the verge of his fifth Sydney premiership, joins Larry Cassidy and Darren Beadman in achieving the feat. On Sunday, the 29-year-old became the youngest person ever to be inducted into the NZ Hall of Fame.

TW3: Meanwhile in … Adelaide: fan realises final wish at the track – in his hospital bed

TW3: News flashes: Concert Tour vs Kentucky hero Medina Spirit in Preakness and more

TW3: Best Beyer: Maxfield

World top 20 active racehorses | World top jockeys and trainers

Visit the Horse Racing Planet home page for more great racing stuff