On the record: Andrasch Starke, Aidan O’Brien, Joao Moreira and more …

• The week’s significant milestones, facts and figures

Horse Racing Sisfahan Andrasch Starke
Andrasch Starke and Sisfahan after the jockey’s eighth success in the Deutsches Derby. Photo: Deutscher Galopp

8 Andrasch Starke

Germany: Nine-time German champion jockey Andrasch Starke rode his eighth winner of the Deutsches Derby when he partnered Sisfahan to success at Hamburg-Horn on Sunday [July 4].

Starke, 47, has also won Germany’s senior Classic on Robertico (1998), Samum (2000), Next Desert (2002), Schaparelli (2006), Kamsin (2008), Lucky Speed (2013) and Nutan (2015). He was equalling Gerhard Streit’s eight winners between 1938 and 1961.

Sent off an 11-1 chance, Henk Grewe-trained Sisfahan – a son of 2016 winner Isfahan – beat the favourite Alter Adler to score by a length and a quarter in the €650,000 contest.

6 Aidan O’Brien

GB: The brilliant victory of St Mark’s Basilica in Saturday’s Coral-Eclipse Stakes provided a sixth victory in the Sandown showpiece for all-conquering trainer Aidan O’Brien, thereby tying the record mark of both Alec Taylor Jr and Sir Michael Stoute.

O’Brien’s previous winners are Giant’s Causeway (2000), Hawk Wing (2002), Oratorio (2005), Mount Nelson (2008) and So You Think (2011).

Perhaps more significantly, O’Brien now leads the trainers’ title race in both Britain and Ireland, while the victory of Broome in Sunday’s Grand Prix de Saint-Cloud means he is second behind Andre Fabre in France. All three championships are decided on a prize-money basis – remarkably, O’Brien’s British haul comes from just eight winners. But that’s still double his French tally!

4 Joao Moreira

Hong Kong: The HK season draws to a close next week at Happy Valley but the jockeys’ title is already done and dusted, with Joao Moreira having established an unassailable lead to register his fourth championship.

The ‘Magic Man’ rode a treble at Sha Tin on Sunday [July 4] to take his seasonal tally to 152. Closest pursuer Zac Purton has 123 – and he’s also been ruled out of the last two meetings through suspension.

“It’s a very meaningful win for me, especially because I have been on the bench for three seasons in a row now and I had to find ways to ignite the flame within myself,” said Moreira, who also won three seasons in a row from 2014-15 to 2016-17.

Alongside Purton and Douglas Whyte, the 37-year-old is only the third rider in the history of Hong Kong racing to have ridden 1,000 winners in the jurisdiction.

13,100 Jorge Ricardo

Brazil: Jorge Ricardo, all-time world leader in career victories, rode his 13,100th winner aboard Guri Carioca in the eighth race at Gavea racecourse in Rio last Monday [June 28]. He made all to score by a half-length on the dirt under the legendary 59-year-old known as ‘Ricardinho’ to his fans.

1 Joanna Wyrzyk

Poland: History was made at Sluzewiec-Warsaw on Sunday (July 4) when Joanna Wyrzyk became the first woman to ride the winner of the Polish Derby on Guitar Man, a son of Galileo trained by the jockey’s father Adam.

100 Christophe Lemaire

Japan: Christophe Lemaire, well on the way to winning his fifth successive jockeys’ title on the JRA circuit, brought up the century for 2021 when he partnered Satono Ailes D’Or to victory in the 11th at Hakodate on Sunday [July 4].

TW3: Meanwhile in … South Africa: Hollywood ending for Kommetdieding in Durban July

TW3: Best Beyer: Knicks Go records top figure of 2021

TW3: News flashes: Sheikh Hamdan legacy lives on, Hugh Bowman and James McDonald in cane toad COVID probe and more …

TW3: Not forgotten: Breeders’ Cup legend Arazi and Newmarket stalwart Eric Eldin

World top 20 active racehorses | World top jockeys and trainers

Visit the Horse Racing Planet home page for more great racing stuff